Home Sports AUS vs IND: India’s Test Record At The Gabba, Brisbane | Cricket News

AUS vs IND: India’s Test Record At The Gabba, Brisbane | Cricket News

Australia vs India: Indias Test Record At The Gabba, Brisbane

India reach the ending point of their nearly two-month long tour of Australia with the fourth and final Test at Brisbane and there’s still a lot to play for. The series is level 1-1, a place in the World Test Championship final is at stake and so is Australia’s record at the venue – they haven’t lost a Test at The Gabba since 1988. India and Australia have played only six Tests at The Gabba since the Indians first toured the country in 1947-48 and barring the 2003 drawn Test all of them have been won by Australia.


Here is how the two teams have fared against one another at the ‘fortress’ Brisbane

November 28-December 4, 1947 – Australia won by an innings and 226 runs

India’s first-ever Test in Australia was played in Brisbane and the hosts clinched that contest by an innings and 226 runs. Sir Donald Bradman scored 185 as Australia declared on 382 for 8 before bowling India out for 58 and 98.

January 19-24, 1968 – Australia won by 39 runs

Doug Walters made 93 and captain Bill Lawry made 64 as Australia scored 379 in the first innings. Twin knocks of 74 from MAK Pataudi and ML Jaisimha helped Inda finish with 279. Australia replied with 294 as Walters scored another half-century before the Indians were bowled out for 355, despite Jaisimha’s 101, chasing 395.

December 2-6, 1977 – Australia won by 16 runs

Australia were bundled for 166 in the first innings but they came back to bowl India out for 153. Then, Bob Simpson’s 89 helped Australia to 327 in the second innings and despite Sunil Gavaskar’s 113, India were dismissed for 324 while chasing 341 runs. Bishan Singh Bedi got five wickets in the first innings while Madan Lal got a five-for in the second. For Australia, Jeff Thomson took seven in the match.

November 29-December 2, 1991 – Australia won by 10 wickets

After dismissing India for 239 in the first innings, courtesy Craig McDermott’s five-wicket haul, Australia made 340, helped by Mark Taylor’s 94. The Indians could only score 156 in the second attempt and Australia knocked off the 58-run target with 10 wickets in hand.

December 4-8, 2003 – Match drawn

In a rain-affected contest, Sourav Ganguly’s 144 overshadowed Justin Langer’s 121 as India replied to Australia’s 323 with 409. Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Damien Martyn and Steve Waugh all hit fifties in the second innings as Australia declared on 284 for 3. Chasing 199, India finished 73 for 2 at Stumps on the final day.


December 17-20, 2014 – Australia won by four wickets

Murali Vijay’s 144 and Ajinkya Rahane’s 81 helped India to 408 in the first innings. Steve Smith riposted with 133 while Mitchell Johnson and Mitchell Starc hit fifties in the lower order to help Australia to 505. India collapsed for 224 in the second essay and Australia chased down the 128-run target with four wickets in hand.

Topics mentioned in this article

This article is auto-generated by Algorithm Source: sports.ndtv.com

Related Posts


Ad Blocker Detected!